Vivie, is that you?

DSC_0337

Hard to even recognize it as the same pattern from my last post! At least I think. If you missed it, take a look here. This is one of the things I love most about sewing. The versatility you can get from just one pattern. The biggest change here is that I just left off the collar (and sleeves.) It actually made the dress faster, which is another bonus! I made a few other subtle changes too. I shortened the bodice and the skirt as well as taking some of the width out of the skirt. I like that this feels a bit more casual and playful. Perfect for these hot summer days we have been blessed with. How cute would this be for school aged kids?!?

DSC_0301.jpgI’m not go lie, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to capture pictures as cute as I did at the train depot. That shoot was everything I had envisioned; the pressure was on. This time I headed into Fargo early with hopes of West Acres not being too busy before they opened. I was also racing the sun. Luckily the shade out front by these planters was just what I needed.

DSC_0219_1

I had bought this fabric to use for my first dress, but second guessed it. After using it on this dress, I have decided to quit second guessing myself. I can’t stand how cute it is!! I stuck to one fabric instead of the contrasting button placket, and only used a little bit of contrasting pink fabric for the bias to finish the arm holes. I like the tiny peek of pink that sticks out.

I borrowed the jean jacket from my niece Zoey (Thanks Kaylie!) and just love how it completes the look. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of taking it off her too early and then couldn’t get the stinker to put it back on. She really is a model, difficult!

DSC_0231

I would love to be able to say that getting these pictures was easy, but they weren’t. Both kids were crabby because I wouldn’t stop for juice or chocolate donuts at the gas station before heading into Fargo. Then they were upset that we didn’t stop at Bean’s Coffee Shop for a bucket of donuts. I had told them we would stop afterwards so Austyn wouldn’t get her dress dirty, but that wasn’t good enough…

DSC_0243

This picture… It’s easy to forget how difficult she can be when I get pictures like this. I can’t help but look at this picture!

Along with starting this blog I have been working on my photography and editing skills. This may not be the best picture, but I love what I was able to do with it.
DSC_0264_1

Seriously, how perfect was this fabric?!?

DSC_0271_1DSC_0281_1DSC_0286_1

I know you aren’t here for my incredible writing, so I’ll leave you with these last few pictures of this adorable little dress and it’s cute little details. If you sew yourself, don’t forget to check out Blaverry for the Vivie pattern and all of their other adorable patterns! You can also check out a few other versions of Vivie from a few other talented ladies by clicking on the links below. (Note: All links should be active by the end of the week.)

Ruby Rue Creations – Snixie Bear – Sprouting JubeJubeBlaverryPrincesse et TrésorsCaptures by Chris

 

DSC_0315 copy

 

3 thoughts on “Vivie, is that you?

Leave a Reply

