Make It Maddox – Pattern by Blaverry

DSC_0160

I am once again a part of a blog tour for one of Blaverry‘s updated patterns! I didn’t think I could love a pattern more than Vivie, which I loved so much I made a second version! This pattern has been updated with the same conveniences at Vivie as well as sleeves added, making it just as versatile.

NOW INCLUDES:

• clickable table of contents
• now 3 new sleeve lengths to choose from
• more size and garment finished measurements
• new pattern nesting for easier size blending
• instructions on how to properly select your size(s)
• instructions on how to blend sizes
• printable page to record measurements and notes
• printable design/coloring page for you and/or your kids
• re-designed pattern pieces for easier size blending

Since we are nearing the end of summer, I chose to do the short sleeve version, and love the professional look the pattern gives you! I once again headed to Modern Textiles when searching for the perfect fabric, and once again was not disappointed. I left with a gorgeous textured solid and an equally gorgeous floral, but wasn’t sure how to use them.

 

The solid is Robert Kaufman Manchester in Poppy, and the floral is from Cotton + Steel’s new line from Rifle Paper Co. called Les Fleurs, Birch Floral in periwinkle. I ended up showcasing the amazing texture in the Manchester and used the C+S as a tiny pop on the sleeves and pockets. Now I need to make a Floral outfit with the Manchester as the accent…

DSC_0163

I would say she approves! After finding my fabrics, I had to think about the whole outfit and the look I wanted. I ended up at Target and just adore these boots that I found from their new line Cat & Jack. I also stumble upon this little straw purse in the clearance isle without tags and scored it for $2!! We topped it off with a simple knit headband and this little girl is officially more stylish than her momma…

 

As you probably know by now, if you are actually reading my posts, I love pockets on garments and so does Miss Bitty. You can see that tiny pop of color from the C+S fabric that I mentioned above.

DSC_0157

Capturing these adorable pictures can still be a challenge since Little Miss is quite opinionated, but she is becoming a natural. Once I showed her where to stand and to hold the railing, she naturally crossed her ankles! Model in the making???

I seriously can’t get over how cute this outfit came together! I did however notice while editing pictures that I made a few mistakes on it, which really bums me out. Biggest is that I put my buttonholes in the wrong way. They should be vertical to keep the front placket from pulling apart. Now I know!

For anyone interested in sewing up this adorable little dress, you can head on over to Blaverry.com and grab a copy of Maddox for yourself. For all the detail in this pattern, it is a relatively quick and easy project. Those on Facebook can also join the private Blaverry group and share your projects as well as get help if needed.

A little bit about the pattern:

Sizes 2t-16y

Immediate download

SKILL LEVEL: intermediate

PATTERN: shift dress

FEATURES: functioning snap placket, pleated cargo pockets with flaps, faced shirt tail style hem

Check out Two Sweet Peas & Me‘s version here!

Watch this week as the blog tour continues!

Monday 8/29

Two Sweet Peas and Me 
Tuesday 8/30

Sprouting JubeJube – BLAVERRY
Wednesday 8/31

Élégantine! 
Friday 9/2

Turtle Birdies  Ruby Rue Creations

14079461_10210117705400922_4804856880389607327_n

 

10 thoughts on “Make It Maddox – Pattern by Blaverry

Leave a Reply

