Rylan goes to Preschool!

Up until a few weeks ago, I had planned to do preschool lessons at home for my son. Though I still can’t believe he is even old enough to go to preschool! You see, in our town of roughly 2,500 people, there are two preschools. Both of the preschools are offered through daycare establishments. Most spots fill up with daycare kids. I being new to the whole “having a child old enough to even go to preschool” thing, didn’t realize how early you have to plan ahead for these things. So I naively called around this past spring to get information about preschool options, and I got information… both were full. I was also naive to think that all schools offered preschool classes, they don’t. Anyways, I got a text from my sister-in-law, Kaylie, informing me that the daycare they use had openings for the 4 year old class and Bud had a spot if I wanted. SO with that, Bud gets his first post on the blog!

DSC_0289.jpg
This is his nice smile…

Every new preschooler needs a new wardrobe! Even if it is only 3 days a week and for only 3 hours each day. He was so excited that I was finally sewing for him. Peek-a-Boo Patterns to the rescue! I have had these patterns for far too long and have yet to sew them up.

No surprise here, but I procrastinated and only got one shirt ready for the first day(I will be sewing more! I swear!)… But we both love it! He saw this fabric panel from Peek-a-Boo Fabric Shop and he immediately knew it was for him! The panel was a too small for the entire front of a shirt, so the Boardwalk Hoodie from Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop was perfect! Being that red is Bud’s favorite color, we used that for the top bodice and outer hood. The coordinating fabric is just too adorable! Both were also purchased from Amy at Peek-a-Boo and they all are amazing quality!

DSC_0297_1.jpg

Also in true procrastinator fashion, I didn’t have a cute sign for pictures… So, at 10 am, just 2 1/2 hours before class started I went in search of a sign. I had seen all these cute pictures of signs that people had purchased at Michael’s Craft Store, so that is  where we headed. I had no luck finding these pre-done signs, but I did find a nice selection of chalkboard signs and chalkboard markers. A small pack a letters and some paint I had at home ( unfortunately I didn’t have red, much to Rylan’s dismay), and we had a sign! I love the way it came out and hope to reuse it year after year to see just how much he grows.

After a successful first day of preschool, we headed to the park! I love that the weather is finally starting to cool down and this pregnant momma can enjoy taking the kids to the park without fear of dying from heat stroke!

dsc_0334

Book orders! I seriously loved these as a kid, and it made me absolutely giddy when I saw this in his backpack today.

dsc_0310

Seriously though, how is this kid old enough to be in preschool?!? It is amazing to watch his personality grow each day. We are constantly amazed by how much he picks up on things and the wisdom this 4 year old child already has.

4 thoughts on “Rylan goes to Preschool!

Leave a Reply

