Tribute – By Elliedactyl

I’m alive! And I have been busy! I am happy to be sewing again, and dove back into pattern testing head first. Tonight I am especially excited to share my test because I also get to share with you my daughter Everly. So here is my take on the Tribute Raglan Sweatshirt by Elliedactyl Patterns.dsc_0553

When I saw the testing call for this little Hoodie, I jumped at the chance to finally sew something for my new little nugget. I was excited to be testing for a new designer and to be sewing some newborn clothes. Since we didn’t know if we were having a little Ms. or Mr., I missed out on sewing a wardrobe of clothes before she arrived. With the weather cooling down, this hoodie was the perfect start to her wardrobe.

dsc_0591

You might recognize the fabric from my last post (which feels like forever ago!) This was my second version, and I am in love! The pattern went together flawlessly and is absolutely adorable! What I love about this pattern is all of the options. There are 2 hood styles along with a basic crew neck option and 2 sleeve options. It ranges in size newborn to 12 and has a nice relaxed fit and hidden inseam pockets. The relaxed fit and long length are great for the cold weather. I made another version in the testing process, and though the hood and neckline were adjusted before the final pattern, it is still completely adorable and perfectly wearable!

dsc_0452

It makes your ovaries hurt, doesn’t it?!?  The hoodie is ridiculously adorable by itself, but fill it with the most adorable little squish ever (at least I think, and totally not biased at all…) and it somehow becomes even more adorable. Those cute little polka dot pants are also a little sneak peak at another pattern in the works. Shhhh.

dsc_0003

See what I mean? Cute, but looks better with the tiny squish in it. I love both the hoodies that I made, but I love the incredible buttery softness of this Poppy Stripe french terry I got from Peek-A-Boo Fabric shop. It is nice and thick and will keep Evie stylish and warm.

So down to the knitty gritty on this pattern (besides being completely awesome.)

Sizes: Newborn-12

Relaxed fit and long “cover the bum” length

Basic Crew-neck, Scuba Hood, and Slouchy Scuba Hood

Basic Sleeve and Inset Racer Stripe Sleeve

Long Sleeve and Short Sleeve

Hidden inseam pockets to hide little treasures and keep little fingers warm.

The pattern is full of detail and fool proof, even for the novice sewist. There is also a quick sew guide included for the more advanced seamstress. For the pattern critics, the sleeves are asymmetrical and there are both pattern pieces and measurements included for the rectangle pieces(cuffs, bands, hood binding.) The fit was tested, adjusted, and tested again.

For all my sewing friends, you can purchase your own pattern here. Use the discount code TRIBUTE20 for 20% off all items in the shop today through 11/1/16. You can also see more creations on facebook by joining the Elliedactyl Designs group. In the group, be sure to check out the pinned post for another code for a free 5K shirt pattern and free doll patterns to match your kids!

dsc_0466

For my non sewing friends who are probably bored by these details, here are a few more pictures of the hoodie on Miss Everly!

dsc_0557

dsc_0577

dsc_0468

dsc_0442

And just because little newborn clothes are so tiny and cute…

dsc_0002

One thought on “Tribute – By Elliedactyl

Leave a Reply

