String Art – Part 1: Using Silhouette Studio’s Rhinestone Feature

Oh my, it has been 3 months since my last post!! I have been busy, just a different kind of busy. 3 kids and the addition of a puppy has made for little time to sit down and post. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been crafting though. I thought I’d share a new form of crafting for me and a hack to make it easier for all the Silhouette Cameo user’s (you must own the designer edition to use the rhinestone feature.)

I know not everyone has a Silhouette, so I will make this in 2 posts. If you’d like, skip on to String Art – Part 2: Step-by-step Tutorial.

A quick glance on Pinterest will quickly show you that string art is nothing new, but I really thought I was clever by using the rhinestone feature to make it easier. Clever, but not original I found! I really thought I had come up with a new idea, but another quick search proves that it is also nothing new, but it’s still handy, so I thought I would show you how I created this cute simple sign.

DSC_0465

I find it easiest to open a new page and start by adjusting it to the same size as my project. For this project, I was working with a scrap of cedar that measured 7″x19″.

Screenshot (83)

Screenshot (84)
To resize the page, click on the icon on the top right button which is highlighted in blue above.

Type out whatever it is you plan to have done in string art, or pull up a picture you would like. I am going with our wedding date and simple hearts. If you are doing a font or a date like me, pick your font. Since I am using hearts in between my numbers, I added a few spaces to fit them in the next steps.

Screenshot (85)

Screenshot (86)

The next step isn’t necessary, but I find it extremely useful for centering things. I create a rectangle and resize to the same size as my page.

Screenshot (88)

Once you have the rectangle to size. Click on the text and right click, then pick convert to path. Click the text again, then while holding shift click on the rectangle.

Screenshot (89)
Click on the Align Page Icon in the upper right bar.

On the align page, click align center. You could certainly wait until the end and align everything at once, but I find it easiest to do it along the way and adjust as needed.

Next I found a simple heart and copy/pasted it onto my design page. I have a set of heart svgs, but haven’t downloaded, so this was quicker. You can’t tell since it’s translucent, but there is actually a box around the heart. To get rid of it I used the trace function to get the outline. Select the heart in the trace area, then click trace outer edge. Afterward, click the solid heart and drag it off your work space. Right click the heart outline and click duplicate.

Screenshot (95)

Screenshot (93)

To help space everything evenly, I created temporary rectangles between my numbers. I then clicked one of the rectangles, held the shift key, and clicked the heart. On the align page I again hit align center. Once this is done, delete the rectangles, select the hearts and numbers, and hit align middle. Select everything and group.

Screenshot (97)
I added the names to my design that I will be adding to my finished string art with paint.

We are finally ready to use the rhinestone function! Like I said before, you need the designer edition to have this option. Start by clicking the parts that you want done with string art. Then click edge for rhinestone effect. I left the size at the default which was 10ss. I increased my spacing to 0.25″. This is a personal preference. I have read that most string art tutorials say 0.5″, but that was too spread out. Even at 0.25″ I had a few wide gaps.

 

Screenshot (98)

The 6 had weird gaps on the inside point where the line comes down and meets the curve. I used the draw rhinestones section to add 2 additional rhinestones to finish the lines. Each design will be different, so you may have to play around a bit here.

This step is very important to be able to print. You need to fill in the rhinestone circles with a color, any color will work besides white, because you know… paper is white. Ha. I like to pick colors similar to my design and just sub grey for my white. For this design, it really isn’t necessary to use different colors, but if you were making a more intricate design it may be handy for keeping the lines straight.

Now print your page. You may have to print a few pages if your design is bigger than 8.5×11 as mine was. After printing my first page, I moved my design over, leaving a bit for overlapping and printed again. I was able to get my design on two sheet.

I left an overlap to help keep my design straight. Hold up to a light or uses a window to overlap your sheets and match up the dots and then tape.

DSC_0418

I used my first page that printed to line everything up on my board since I know it was spaced correctly for this piece. I put the sheet right on top matching the corner and edges, then taped it down so I can starting nailing.

There it is! I will show you how to make the string art in my next post!

Check out the step-by-step tutorial here!

 

 

One thought on “String Art – Part 1: Using Silhouette Studio’s Rhinestone Feature

Leave a Reply

